Yesterday’s introduction should have given you all the background you need to know.  I’ll just cut straight to the chase.

B1: That Summer Feelin’ – Jonathan Richman & The Modern Lovers

You don’t have to be American to get all the references in this lovely tribute to the warmest of our four seasons, albeit it’s only in the USA that you’ll end up doing many of things the lyrics refer to.    There’s a six minute-plus version that can be found on the 1992 solo album I, Jonathan, but it was the original take, as released on the 1983 band album Jonathan Sings! that JAZF included on one of his tapes.  Looking things up, the 83 album was given a CD reissue in 1993 so I’m guessing that was how it was sourced.

B2: Invisible Man – The Breeders

A second appearance for Kim & co on the tape.  I’m sure I included this as a bit of an in-joke as JAZF hadn’t actually meant to include it on the initial tape it had first appeared, but he’d got so wrapped up in listening to Cannonball that he forgot to press either of the pause or stop buttons and it ran into the next song.  A very happy accident as far as I’m concerned.

B3: Like A Hurricane – Neil Young

I’d avoided the old hippy until now.  Neil Young was associated with the jukebox that was in the corner of the games room in the student union, over which stood permanently the long-haired, combat-jacket wearing crowd who seemed to have it rigged up to churn out early 70s rock classics as if we were stuck on a loop of Bob Harris-fronted editions of The Old Grey Whistle Test.  JAZF told me that a new live album by Neil Young, recorded as part of an MTV Unplugged show, was one of the best albums of 1993 and he kept putting a track from it on each monthly tape.  Turned out, he was right.  He usually is.

B4: Going Out With God – Kinky Machine

London-based indie band of the early 90s, this was the debut single from 1992, released on an indie label, and as with so many throughout history, they signed soon after to a major, MCA; but two albums and a handful of singles in 93/94 sold in minuscule numbers.  I had a soft spot for this track back in the day but it hasn’t aged well and sounds more than a tad indie-by-numbers.

B5: Bizarre Love Triangle – Devine and Statton

In 1990, the singer with Young Marble Giants had teamed up with the guitarist from Ludus, an art-rock band of the late 70s from Manchester.  Their material was released on the Belgian-based Les Disques Du Crépuscule, and this beautifully understated cover version ‎of the New Order song had been issued as a single in 1989. No idea why it took JAZF four years to bring it to my attention….

B6: Lucky Like St Sebastian – Momus

I mentioned Momus a few weeks back on the Scottish songs rundown. This is the opening track on his 1986 album Circus Maximus, a work that focusses on biblical themes and the folklore of Ancient Rome. This would have been included on a tape after a pub conversation in which I would have admitted to knowing very little about Momus. JAZF has often been ahead of the curve, musically speaking.

B7: Hear No Bullshit (On Fire Mix)/Enough Is Enough – Chumawamba/Credit To The Nation

My recollection of this is that JAZF put all three tracks from Enough Is Enough, the June 1993 single recorded by Chumawamba/Credit To The Nation on a tape on the very evening he bought the single and he handed it to me the next morning. I then went out and bought my own copy the next again day. The anti-fascist message of the songs resonated enough that I ended up putting two of them on the end of year compilation.

B8: How – The Cranberries

Everyone in the UK would go nuts for The Cranberries in 1994 on the back of the re-release of the singles Linger and Dreams that brought them the initial chart success. JAZF was already onto them, having picked up debut album Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? that had been released in March 1993, from which he picked out this outstanding piece of music for my entertainment and enjoyment. RIP Dolores.

B9: Fuzzy – Grant Lee Buffalo

The title track from the band’s 1993 debut album, one that slipped under the radar of most folk until Michael Stipe, in an end-of-the-year round-up said it has been his record of the year, The curve etc…..

B10: Birthday (Tommy D Mix) – Sugarcubes

Despite loving Sugarcubes, I didn’t have all that much free money that I could go out and splash out recklessly on the 1992 remix album, It’s It. Besides, I loved the original versions so much that I didn’t really care that some underground DJs had tweaked them, most likely beyond recognition. Got that wrong, didn’t I??

B11: Children of the Revolution – Baby Ford

Another one dating from 1989, its inclusion would have JAZF continuing my education from my ‘lost years’. From recollection, I put it on at the end of the tape as it fitted nicely in terms of the time available and it followed on well from Bjork & co. It’s a very good and interesting dance/electro take on the glam rock smash by T.Rex some 20+ years previous.

Hope you’ve all enjoyed this small diversion and some recollections from a by-gone era.

In the meantime, here, just like yesterday, are all the tracks as a single mix (which goes a little bit beyond 45 mins as I could only source an extended version of the final song)

mp3: Various – Now That’s What I Call JAZF ’93 (side B)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.